Confession: part of the reason why bridal salons give me the heebie-jeebies is the surprisingly large display area they set aside for tiaras.

Way back when, long before any thoughts of weddings entered my head, I was reading my October 2005 issue of Vogue, specifically chronicling the weddings of three “superbrides,” i.e. contributors to the magazine or their wealthy friends who appear in the society section who will undoubtedly throw massive, expensive celebrations.  My favorite to read about was Plum Sykes, as she chronicled little aspects of her upcoming nuptials in her monthly column from time to time, including a delightful retelling of buying her honeymoon lingerie in France (but that, to paraphrase Alton Brown, is another post).

She wore an amazing dress by her friend Alexander McQueen, and opted out of wearing  a veil or a tiara.  When asked why, she gave this answer:

“It was all too much. I tried on a tiara, and I looked like Courtney Love. A tiara on a 35-year-old woman is wrong.”

While I am not 35, I can’t help but share her sentiments.  Maybe it’s due to all of the princess marketing out there these days, or perhaps seeing one too many on My Super Sweet Sixteen (and really, only seeing one is one too many), the tiara has adopted a patina of, well, commonality in my eyes.  And after doing a little Google search on tiaras for this post, I see edicts such as “If you don’t wear a tiara, how will anyone know YOU ARE THE BRIDE at the reception???

It’s statements like these that justify my reluctance to this whole debacle in the first place.

Needless to say, looking at pictures from Ms. Syke’s wedding, going tiara-less did not make her look any less “the bride.”  I’m going tiara-less as well, and I’m fairly certain it won’t make me any less of one either.

I will say this:  Natalie Portman did wear a gorgeous one to the Oscars a few years ago, but I’m more inclined to call this a fancy headband than an actual tiara:

                                25f.jpg (photo from style.com)

To anyone out there who DID wear a tiara, what prompted you?  What did it look like?

Leave a Reply

