Confession: I’m kinda crushing on the suitcases I bought for the bridesmaids.

Make that completely crushing on them.

Let me start out by saying that I am quite the Wes Anderson fan–I can watch The Royal Tenenbaums ad nauseum, and I think my pals are a little sick of me playing the Life Aquatic Stuido Sessions with Seu Jorge whenever there’s a party.  His obsessive attention to detail kills me–from wardrobe to set design to soundtrack choices, what seems like an odd mix of random elements becomes cohesive and pitch-perfect under his direction:

(Image from imdb.com)

And the promotional shots of the Louis-Vuitton designed luggage for The Darjeeling Limited have been in my mind for a while and I wanted to work them into my wedding aesthetic somehow:

(image from Rushmore Academy)

And then my muse whacked me over the head with a fabulous idea.

My first contact with these suitcases was from reading a weddingbee post–one of the lovely Bees was a.) making her bridesmaids a little “will you be my bridesmaid?” gift and used suitcases as the packaging and b.) a huge fan of Paper-Source, one of the links over there on my blogroll.  So not only did she give me a great idea for my bridesmaid gifts, but she even gave me a place to buy them (and for a reasonable price, to boot!).  So much thanks and good DIY-karma is currently being sent her way.

What did I end up choosing?  Fortunately, given that my main color is fairly commonplace, I was able to find a small riveted suitcase that completely worked with my Anderson-inspired aesthetic:

I’ve ordered all six (which is why they are now out of stock!) and they are likely arriving on the ides of April to my parents’ house.  They’ll join my package of ivory wraps that I bought for each of my ladies (not for the ceremony as much as something to use during the cocktail hour, and then as a scarf later on) that I ordered from Target, as well as the bracelet I’m currently DIY-ing for each of them (and for each of those, I am constructing an origami box, because I’m a nerd like that).

The question, though, is what else to add?  I’m already adding a luggage tag to each of them…but what else should go in there?  I was thinking a piece of vintage jewelry for each of my ladies (not necessarily to wear on the big day–more of a keepsake), or perhaps a Moleskine journal and pen…but I don’t know.  What I’d really love to do is to get each girl one of the new Moleskine City Notebooks of either a city they love or one they hope to visit one day…but is that enough?

Help!  How did you add a personal touch to each of your bridesmaid gifts?

Leave a Reply

