Confession: I feel like time is slipping, slipping, slipping…into the future.

April is rapidly coming to a close, and while I’ve made strides, I’m likely not doing nearly enough ahead of time.  So…despite it being a gorgeous day here in New Haven, I’m hankering down and as God as my witness, I’m going to finalize our CD-favor playlist and subsequently finish creating our CD cover.

We’ve had something in mind for well over a year–we knew that our focus would be “what would be fun to listen to in the car?” instead of just rehashing songs that were played at the wedding.  So if I hear something I love (which, admittedly, happens quite often) and it could be a good fit, I’ve been adding to my “october road trip” playlist.  It’s far from complete, but here are the songs that we’ve thought of so far:

I apologize for the lousy quality–my computer is being difficult.

There are a few songs on this list that are non-negotiables for various reasons:

  • “Masterfade” by Andrew Bird–our wedding song!
  • “In the Aeroplane Over the Sea”–the runner up for our wedding song, but it just didn’t feel wedding-y enough to me.  Also, there are some who are expecting this and it’ll be fun to surprise them.
  • “Ceremony” by New Order–because I just love this song.  And it’s fun to drive to.
  • “Each Day Gets Better” by John Legend–because it’s peppy and has an amazing old-school Motown feel to it.
  • “Inside and Out” by Feist–because this is one of Michael’s favorite covers (it’s crazy-sexy) and because we’ll be playing the BeeGees version at the reception.

The others can be excluded at whim.  So this I pose to you, dear readers:  what are YOUR favorite road trip songs?  What never fails to put a smile on your face?

Leave a Reply

